What I Love About My School

The path I’ve taken in my higher education was by no means planned out. I graduated high school not knowing at all what I wanted to do, and put off the decision to come to Ohio University until the last minute. I chose this university simply because I wanted to go somewhere away from home. I had no idea how much I would truly come to love it here, or that I would study communications.

Here I am outside of the art building, Seigfried Hall, on East Green.

Here I am outside of the art building, Seigfried Hall, on East Green.

I love my school, but the biggest reasons aren’t ones that you would typically think of. While I’m sure numerous Bobcats would list partying, great academic programs, professors, and activities, I have my reasons for loving it here so much.

1. There’s a place here for everyone.

No matter where you come from, who and what you like, what your gender identity is, there’s a place for everyone. The LGBT Center, the Women’s Center, the Multicultural Center and the Office of Multicultural Student Access and Retention are amazing, offering a wide variety of events, programs, and resources that anyone can utilize.

2. There are a vast amount of opportunities to learn outside of the classroom.

My beliefs and outlooks have changed tremendously since I began here, and I credit it to everything offered outside of the classroom (like the programs and events I was talking about in #1). I was given the chance to learn and discuss various issues such as social justice, something that never would have happened back home. Learning outside the classroom helped me discover my passion and interest in Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. Attending performances, listening to speakers and panels, as well as a variety of other university events, gave me exciting and engaging opportunities for personal development and education.

3. There will always be someone who can help you.

It was shocking to me at first how nice everyone here is! On campus and in the community, I always find myself talking to strangers everywhere I go. Not only that, but I think most people here truly care about others and want to see others learn, grow, and be the best they can be. There’s great resources here too, like the Allen Student Help Center, the Career Development and Leadership Center, and Psychological Services to name a few. The best part is that I could walk into most buildings on campus with any question and they would help me find where I need to go and who to ask.

Maybe not everyone feels the same way about this school, as I’m sure it’s not right for everyone. But it was right to me, and the places that I have found within the university have helped shape me. I never could have ever imagined my undergraduate experience would be as great as this.

-Anna Neawedde

Women’s Center Staff

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from the WC Staff, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

