Are you Considering Applying for the Young Women Leaders Program?

Read a few thoughts from Leah Brown, a member of the Women’s Center Staff and co-founder of the Young Women Leaders Program at Ohio University:


Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 4The Young Women Leaders Program is something very near and dear to my heart. As a seventh grader, I was coming out of being bullied and didn’t really feel like I fit anywhere. When I was invited to join YWLP, I felt like it was going to be just a waste of my time. I didn’t think I’d get anything out of it and I definitely didn’t think that I’d have anything in common with a woman in college. In my opinion, I wasn’t really a leader at all.

Now that I am a junior at Ohio University and helping to start our branch of the YWLP family, I can see that I was very wrong to have those thoughts. I am extremely confident in my leadership and interpersonal skills now. YWLP strengthened my confidence in myself and allowed me to come to a safe, close-knit environment. To this day I am in still in contact with my big sister from seventh grade. The bond that I formed with not only my mentor but with my fellow little sisters has been a long lasting one.


The Young Women Leaders Program is seeking undergraduate women to serve as mentors and role models to middle school girls in the area. Applications are due to the Women’s Center, 403 Baker Center, on this Friday, October 31st. Applications are available in the Women’s Center and online.

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Young Women Leaders Program and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

