Support Emily Burns, our Amazing Graduate Assistant!

Friends, Faculty and Colleagues,

I’m writing to invite you to an All-Day NYC Marathon Fundraising Open House in the Women’s Center (Baker 403) on October, 27th.

My name is Emily Bu414189_3186637178806_223608833_o (1)rns; some of you may know me from my time as an undergrad in WGSS or from my more recent position as Graduate Assistant at the Women’s Center.  I’m also a second year Master’s student in Public Administration at the Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs.   I’ve been given a fantastic opportunity to run this year’s New York City Marathon on November 2nd with Team Healthy Kids, a subsidiary of the Chicago-based non-profit, Action for Healthy Kids. I’ve committed to a fundraising goal of $3500 for the organization and I hope you’ll be able to help me reach my goal. Having grown up with a dietician/nutritionist for a mother, healthy living and a balanced diet have always been a high priority for me.  This awareness was heightened when I moved away from home and into my freshman dorm at Ohio University where I met the people who would become my best friends and biggest supporters.  One in particular has pushed me and inspired me to physical feats I never thought possible, and it is in her honor that I’ve seized this opportunity and run with it (pun intended!).  As a teenager, she struggled with an eating disorder and crippling body dissatisfaction. Together we’ve grown into confident, capable accomplished young women, but her performance as an athlete (she has completed 3 half-iron mans, 7 full triathlons, 2 marathons and numerous smaller races) continues to drive me and inspire me. It also reinforces the importance of the work that Action for Healthy Kids does through grants and education around the country. By helping schools provide balanced breakfasts as well as the tools for successful and sustainable physical education programs, they are laying the foundation for healthy kids with healthy minds who have the energy and confidence to be their best selves.

It is in this spirit that I seek your support.  This will be my fourth marathon in the last three years. I’ve run the Athens Marathon for the past three years, the Union Hospital Run For Home Half Marathon in 2012, eight 5ks intermittently dispersed, all in all logging over 800 training miles in the last five years.  If someone had told me even 3 years ago that I’d be running marathons, let alone a marathon as celebrated and competitive as the NYC marathon, I would never have believed it! But I’ve worked incredibly hard to reach this level of physical and mental strength and it is my sincere hope that you will help me on this journey of self-discove534151_4895413229717_2131099534_n (1)ry and philanthropy.

During the Open House, I’ll be available all day to answer any questions about Action For Healthy Kids and my own personal training journey. If you would like to donate but are unable to attend, you can do so on my crowdrise page:

https://www.crowdrise.com/teamhealthykids2014nycmarathon/fundraiser/emilyburns1

I’m only able to accept donations until November 5th, so please don’t delay, donate today!

Thank you so much for your support, please feel free to contact me with any questions,

Emily Burns​​

eb932608@ohio.edu

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from the WC Staff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

