What I Learned From Working at the Women’s Center

It is hard to believe that, in less than one month, I will be working my final shift at the Women’s Center. I am so grateful for the opportunity to work at the Center for the past two years, as well as for the opportunity to work at the Survivor Advocacy Program for a year.

Image 

I have learned a lot during my time with the Women’s Center and OUSAP. Through my job responsibilities, I gained invaluable experience in terms of publication design, social media outreach, event planning, and more. I also advanced my knowledge of women’s issues, including what work still needs to be done to advance women’s lives and positions worldwide.

 

However, I have learned a lot about myself during my time being involved with the Center, too. Because of the many strong, inspiring women that I have come into contact with over the past three years, I have grown into a more confident young woman and a more active feminist.

 

While it is difficult to summarize how impactful my time with the Women’s Center and OUSAP has been, here are ten of the most important things I have learned over the past three years:

 

  1. Sexual assault is NEVER the victim’s fault.
  2. Anyone can identify as a feminist, regardless of race, gender, or sexual orientation.
  3. Many people are afraid of the word feminist.
  4. The number of people, groups, and events on campus that work to raise awareness of gender issues, empower women, and support survivors is astounding.
  5. Despite popular belief, some men can actually walk very well in heels, as evidenced by Walk A Mile In Her Shoes.
  6. The copy machine on the third floor of Baker Center is definitely not your friend.
  7. Doing dating-like things is an acceptable way to define a relationship to your coworkers.
  8. The commitment to the mission of the Women’s Center extends beyond your time in Baker 403.
  9. You really can be best friends with your coworkers.
  10. Feminists have more fun 😉

 

By: Lindsey Spanner

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

