Meet the Editor

Image

Hi everyone!

I’m Ashley E. Osborne, and I am the Editor-in-Chief of The Ohio University Women’s Center blog for the 2013-14 academic year! I am a junior Strategic Communication major, earning a minor in Spanish. Last fall, I served as a volunteer at the Women’s Center and I quickly fell in love with the Center’s welcoming environment. It is a privilege to have the opportunity to write for such an influential blog and I plan to keep you, the reader, engaged, educated and frequenting our site. If you’re a frequent reader and would like to contribute an entry or piece to our blog, feel free to reach out to me via email at ao749810@ohio.edu.

As a public relations professional, I plan to pursue the industries of entertainment, culture, lifestyle, and entrepreneurship. As a woman, I know I will be faced with obstacles that may prevent me from achieving my personal goals. Also, being a professional woman in the entertainment industry, I can predict it will be easy to get caught up in the many superficial influences. Growing with confidence, faith, and a strong value on equality, I know how important it is to stay true to yourself as life progresses. Being a feminist is an important part of who I am today. I have not always viewed and held people, including myself, at an equal level of respect. I have been through many life lessons that have fostered a change in the way I view the importance of respect. I believe we should accept people for who they are, no matter if they are familiar or foreign to our views of life. I am an advocate for peace, equality and respect. I hope to share my views with you all and maybe provide a different perspective on popular and personal issues and events.

Outside of class, I spend my time being actively involved with student organizations such as Ohio University Student Senate, Scripps PRSSA, ImPRessions,  Black Student Cultural Programming Board, and Black Student Union. Outside of campus, I enjoy writing poetry, cooking my favorite cuisines, planning events, networking, traveling, and listening to music. I am interested in all aspects of culture, God, fostering meaningful relationships, and helping people make their visions come to life. I love people and the stories and experiences we all have to share. I believe the beauty in life is the diversity of everything around us. I am a very nice person- always willing to lend a hand, an ear or a share laughs. Stop by the Women’s Center at Baker 403 and say hello! 🙂

As editor, I plan to post to our blog at least twice a week. I want to get involvement from our readers with guest pieces (written posts, photographs, videos, related current events, etc.). It is my mission to mold our blog into a platform for a supportive community. If you have any questions, concerns, or hopefully want to publish content, please send an outreach email to ao749810@ohio.edu.

Take care,

AO

@simply_ao

 

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Staff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

