Meet Lindsey Spanner, Student Worker

Image

Hello everyone!  My name is Lindsey Spanner and I am a junior studying Communication Studies and Spanish.  I am also pursuing the Writing Certificate and hope to complete a Linguistics minor before I graduate.  This is my second semester as a  student worker for the Women’s Center.  With Jess Miller currently interning in D.C., I am taking on some of her responsibilities and will be blogging each week in her place.

Feminism has always been a part of my life.  I was fortunate enough to grow up surrounded by strong women who taught me that I can achieve anything I set my mind to, and more importantly that I have the right as a woman to do so.  My mother is a first-generation college graduate who has always stood up for her rights as a woman, and she is an inspiration to me as I advocate for equality and women’s rights in my own life.  Thus, the Women’s Center is a perfect fit for me, and I feel right at home here!

Besides being a feminist, I am also passionate about travelling.  I love visiting new places; whether it be a different country or a different state, I’m always looking for the next adventure.  Last spring I had the opportunity to study abroad in Spain, and the experience was life-changing.  I met some amazing people while I was there, including my host family, with whom I discussed all sorts of issues.  We talked about everything from education rights to stereotypes of American women, and from women’s issues to whether or not my host brothers should have to do chores.  Feminism is truly a global movement!

When I’m not in the Center, you can likely find me either riding my bike or watching Sex and the City reruns (I may or may not be obsessed).  I’m excited to be taking on more hours this semester, so be sure to stop by the Center to say hi!  

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

