A “See You Later” Post

I’m excited to share that I’ve been accepted into Scripps Howard Foundation in Washington program for spring semester. For this internship, I will be living in  Washington, D.C and reporting on events that take place on the Hill, in the White House, and at the Supreme Court. I’m ecstatic for this opportunity, and I’m extremely grateful for all the opportunities it will afford me, such as covering the presidential inauguration. I could not be more thrilled or excited.

The downside to this, of course, is that I will no longer be working at the Women’s Center or involved in the many student organizations that I am a part of. I’m going to miss Athens and all my friends, but I can’t wait to go back to D.C. and be involved in all of the political happenings there.

Who knows, maybe I'll be lucky enough to interview this guy.

Who knows, maybe I’ll be lucky enough to interview this guy.

It’s been such a privilege to work here at the Ohio University Women’s Center this semester. I came here with a lot of passion about feminist issues, and I left with a lot of knowledge about how to empower women and how women can empower the world. I’ve been extremely fortunate to work with other students and volunteers who are dedicated and hardworking. I’ve been lucky to have bosses like V and Dr. Dietzel who are so dedicated to the furtherance of women’s and LGBTQ equality. I’m proud to say that I worked for such intelligent, strong, independent women. I’m sad to leave, but can assure you I’ll be back.

Till next time….peace, love, and feminism.

-Jess

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

