Hello Bobcats!

Find new ways to challenge gender stereotypes!

Hello Bobcats! I’m Monisha Mukhija, the Graduate Assistant here at the Women’s Center. I am from Bombay, India, but came to the States in 2007 for my undergraduate education at Denison University. So this is my first year at OU and I’m here to pursue my Master’s in Media Arts and Studies. My interest in women’s issues came from not understanding social dynamics and power hierarchies. Even though I grew up in a very conservative culture, I never really understood the double standards that were consistently being drilled in my ears. But I was hesitant to say anything because I thought that I was probably the only one in the world who thought that way. Clearly, I was wrong. For me, feminism is not just about the notion that women are people and should be treated as such. Feminism gives me the inspiration to acknowledge that every human being – black, white, brown, male, female, straight, gay, transgender, rich, or poor – should be treated with equality and should be entitled to individual civil rights. We should be able to create our own realities and not have our freedom be defined by something that we are born into because that’s so totally absurd. Anyway, just wanted to let everyone know that the Women’s Center is awesome for all the work that they do and the support that they provide. Please stop by to study, chat, or even just for coffee. We are located in Baker 403. I’d love to meet you guys!

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Staff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

