Greetings from your new Student Coordinator!

Hello all! My name is Jess Miller and I’m a junior studying journalism, political science, and women’s and gender studies. I’m very excited to introduce myself as one of the student coordinators for the OU Women’s Center this year!

To tell you a bit about myself, I grew up near Canton, Ohio, in a very small town called Sugarcreek. After high school, I applied and was accepted in the Scripps School of Journalism, and since I’ve moved to Athens, I haven’t looked back! Growing up in such a conservative town where most women are housewives and mothers really motivated me to go on to college and further my education. I’ve been a passionate advocate of women’s rights since I was a teenager, and now I’m glad to finally be putting this passion to good use here at the Women’s Center.

Another passion of mine, and something I could literally spend all day discussing, is politics. I’ve also had strong political opinions from a fairly young age, so coming to OU, where diverse opinions abound, was wonderful. I had the amazing experience this summer of being an intern in Washington D.C. I wrote for the Almanac of American Politics, interviewed Congressmen, attended site briefings at the State Department and Capitol Hill, toured the offices of Politico, and got to meet David Gregory after watching a live taping of Meet the Press. Simultaneously, I took classes at Georgetown University, lived with four girls who I knew nothing about, and got to meet fellow students and interns from all around the world. Needless to say, it was the summer of a lifetime, and the weeks flew by.

But now that it’s Fall Semester, it’s time to get buckle down and get back to work. I’m so happy to be back in Athens, and I cannot wait to meet you all! Stop by the Women’s Center in 403 Baker and introduce yourselves! Happy Feministing!

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

