In Four Years

I found this poem by an anonymous author on my StumbleUpon account and thought it was really cool.  It is a little something that sends several great messages and gives us something to think about.

–Eliza Smith, Volunteer

 

By Anonymous

I learned that putting spoons in the freezer when you’re crying will later soothe your puffy eyes

I learned that getting away from the person who makes you cry will, eventually, make you feel better.

 

I learned that my eyes are grey, not blue

That they shift with the light and with my moods

I learned that this makes me beautiful

Even when my eyes are as stormy as my soul.

 

I learned that I hate the word “hot”

I learned that I have defined a large portion of my life by it.

 

I learned the difference between a true apology and a request for absolution

I learned that the former is rare and the latter, much too common

I learned that I have the right to walk away from both.

 

I learned that I have rights, even as a woman.  Especially as a woman.

 

I learned that rock bottom is never actually bottom, and that asking for help is better than muddling through

I learned that muddling a drink is unnecessary when you learn to like the taste of straight whisky

I learned that whisky sometimes gets you closer to bottom.

 

I learned that discomfort is powerful.

 

I learned that thunderstorms are soothing

And that sunny days are just nervous energy bursting from the universe’s soul.

 

I learned that sunburn hurts just as much as the boy on the beach who tells you that you look anything less than “skinny” in a bathing suit

I learned that “skinny” is more painful than it looks

And that a bathing suit is meant for playing in the water so much that you forget you are getting burned.

 

I learned that sex can feel good

And that it feels best when it’s actually consensual.

 

I learned that speaking against the consensus is sometimes a good idea

I learned that my ideas are worth voicing, even when they earn me a jab in the ribs, a shove, a reputation

I learned that reputations are both more and less important than they seem

Depending upon the circles of people you choose to esteem in your life.

 

I learned that having people in my life that I do not respect is, in fact, a waste of my time

I learned that my time is precious because it is mine, because I can choose what I want to do with it.

 

I learned that taking a nap is sometimes just as valuable as taking that hour to study, or get lunch with a friend, or look up poetry by authors I secretly aspire to become

I learned that secret aspirations are just bold dreams divided from the truth by a thin line of privacy and shame

I learned that words are in my veins and that I bleed my existence every time I put pen to paper.
I learned that four years is not enough time to know myself.

 

But I learned that I am worth knowing.

 

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

