Meet the Staff: Simone Savanah

It has always been my dream to surround myself with like-minded women as well as participate in their struggles. I have been inspired by my mother and grandmothers to engage in women’s issues. Additionally, my own personal experiences and those I read about in novels and pieces of poetry gave me the courage to be a feminist.

Though many of my poems may seem like they are just about a broken hearted woman, they also involve the understanding and fight for love, especially for women because we have experienced so much lovelessness. Bell Hooks declared that “love is a combination of care, commitment, knowledge, responsibility, respect and trust,” and I believe this with all of my heart. My fight for women involves that gaining of love from others as well as the ability to love ourselves, and I do so through my poetry.

I began attending Ohio University in 2006 for undergrad and graduated with a BA in English-Creative Writing in 2010. During undergrad, I spent a lot of my time volunteering for various organizations, running the Eta Psi chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Incorporated, and working for Ohio University’s Upward Bound program (Proud alumna!!). Because I love OU so much, I decided to come back for another two years to obtain a Masters in Cultural Studies. I’m proud to say that I am the Graduate Assistant for the Women’s Center Survivor Advocacy Program. It brings me so much joy to be apart of such a beautiful program!!

In general, I spend the majority of my time writing poetry, writing my thesis on the disclosure of lovelessness through poetry/spoken word by African American women, reading, trying to find jeans that fit, and having awkward conversations with my ex-boyfriend. 😉

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Staff, Survivor Advocacy Program. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

