Meet the Staff: Elizabeth Chinn


I have long had a passion for working for and with women. I was raised by strong women and that has given me a strong sense of self and an unshakable belief that women can do absolutely anything we want with enough time and teamwork. Going to an all-girls high school introduced me to the world of academic feminism and further convinced me that women are doing all kinds of things in all kinds of places- even if men aren’t paying attention to it.

I attended my undergrad here at Ohio University a long, long ago (circa 2005-2009) with a major in Political Science and World Religion. I wrote my undergraduate thesis on Feminism and Fiqh (Islamic Jurisprudence)- about how some Muslim women are using fiqh to expand women’s public roles and formal rights in Muslim-majority communities and countries. During undergrad, I also became really invested in the Athens community as a volunteer in a variety of organizations ranging from Residence Life to Habitat for Humanity. As a graduate student, I finally had the chance to become involved with our fabulous OU Women’s Center. Here, I am the Graduate Assistant working mostly on developing the Women’s Center Mentorship Program which juniors and seniors should apply to via www.ohio.edu/womenscenter by October 3, 2011!!

Generally, I spend my time researching for my Political Science Master’s thesis which focuses on democratization and the role religion has in it. But I also enjoy Queer stuff, crafts, trashy novels, politics, and horror movies.

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Staff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

