Meet the Staff: Ashleigh Mavros


If you would have told me four years ago that I would be working at the Ohio University Women’s Center as the new Student Outreach Coordinator, I would have said you were out of your mind. I’ve always been heavily involved in journalism, but would never have thought I would end up majoring in public relations, let alone at Ohio University. I was a small town country girl who showed dairy heifers and reigned as fair queen for a year who wanted nothing more than to head to the big city for school. However, I could not pass up the opportunity of attending the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism. Currently in my sophomore year, I look back at my decision to attend Ohio University as one of my best choices, and am so blessed with all of the opportunities I have received thus far.

One being my position here at the Women’s Center. Starting this quarter I will be managing the multi-media accounts including our Twitter, Facebook, WordPress, website, and our weekly newsletter. Although I do not have as strong of a background in women’s and gender studies as I would have liked, I’m ready to take in as much possible through my experience here at the center. I’m also looking forward to connecting with all the inspiring characters that are involved within the Women’s Center.

Outside of my work here, I am also employed as a tour guide for the university. So, if you see me out on campus giving a tour, don’t be afraid to stop and tell the parents about how much you love Ohio University :).  I am a member of the Public Relations Student Society of America and am also actively involved on an ImPRessions account.  In my down time, I love reading, swimming, and biking. However, this past summer I just finished all eighteen Jodi Picoult novels so now I’m at a loss as to what I should read next (any suggestions, let me know!) I absolutely love to travel and I would like to eventually visit every state in the country, as I’m already over halfway there.  My love for traveling will once again be fulfilled as I venture to Merida, Mexico to study abroad this upcoming winter quarter as I work towards a minor in Spanish. However, I will return back to the Women’s Center for spring quarter.

Diving back into my work and studies, I’m looking forward to the experience and growth I know will come of this year.

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Staff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

