Senior finds niche, great friends through volunteer work

By Kristen Magers

When I first walked into the Ohio University Women’s Center, I was so nervous! Even though I was a senior, I had never really found a niche within OU and I was hoping that volunteering at the center would help me with this feeling. The experience that I found at the Women’s Center was beyond anything I ever could have imagined. I am so sad to now be leaving this home I have found at the center but I am so thankful for the experiences I have had.

Over the past year, I have been thrown into the work and advocacy of the Women’s Center. The fall started with the amazing experience of watching nearly 100 guys walk a mile in high heels, taking a stance against sexual assault. Toward the end of winter, I got to experience International Women’s Day, where I celebrated with women of many cultures and diverse backgrounds. The day was something I will never forget. This spring, I got to put my own feminism into action by working on Equal Pay Day. I researched the wage gap and then educated others on this gap. I led that week’s Brown Bag Lunch and Learn and was able to talk to many women about this problem. Leading that brown bag was something I could have never done before coming to the Women’s Center, but in my work here, I found new strength I didn’t know I had.

The experiences aren’t the only thing that I will take away from the Women’s Center.  I also got to know some of the greatest people I will ever know. Over the past six months, I have made friendships with women that I hope will carry on for the rest of our lives. I also found amazing mentors whose guidance I cherish and I am sure I will always come to them for advice. I am really going to miss the OU Women’s Center, and I will carry it (and those purple pens) everywhere I go in the future (which is TBA…).

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

