Pop culture is too broad for 10 weeks

By Kristen Magers

I kept thinking to myself that this final blog had to be a great one. My mind raced at the thought of talking about something really, really awesome this week. Then my mind started thinking of all the things I didn’t get to talk about this quarter. When I first started this blog, I thought it might be hard to think of new topics every week but this was not the case. In fact, there are many things I love in pop culture that I never got to talk about! So, here it is! A quick rundown of some things I wanted to talk about but didn’t have the chance (until now). And forgive me if most if it is reality television.

The Kardashians: I get a lot of flack for this one but I let the haters just slide right off. I am completely and totally fascinated by the Kardashians and I watch every show that involves them. I know all of their names and probably more of their pre-fame history than I should. I don’t think they are the most riveting reality television show and very rarely are they educational, but when you’re procrastinating or just want to watch something you don’t have to think about- check them out on E!

Miley Cyrus: Another one I get a lot of flack for. Maybe that’s why I never talked about these things…. Anyway, you can feel many ways about Miley Cyrus and I choose to enjoy her. I don’t care who you are, I know you have (maybe drunkenly) sang along to a few of her songs. My personal favorites are “See You Again” and “Can’t Be Tamed.” She makes catchy music and since she dropped the whole Hannah Montana thing, what is there to dislike? She doesn’t deserve half of the negativity she receives in the media.

 Food: Okay, food isn’t necessarily pop culture unless we’re talking about The Food Network, which I love. I love food so much that I think I could be considered a foodie. I love to eat food, I love to make food, and I love to talk about food. I have now typed “food” so many times that it no longer looks like a real word but I needed to fully convey this love I feel for… food. Favorite Food Network show? It’s gotta be “Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives.” Check it out!

 The Duggars: I saved the best for last. If you haven’t watched them on TLC, you need to as soon as possible. Currently their show is titled “19 Kids and Counting.” The Duggars are famous for having as many kids as God will allow them to, which is currently nineteen.. They are friends with another family who has just as many kids as they do and when they get together- it can get a little rowdy, Duggar-style. My favorite part of the show is when TLC gives us fact pop-ups, like how many months Michelle Duggar has been pregnant and other vital information like their stance on premarital kissing (big no-no).  I dare you to find something more fascinating than this family.

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

