Senioritis results in musical musings

By Kristen Magers

Alright, I’ll admit it: this whole week 9 thing is really getting to me. Graduation is looming, and not just for myself and fellow bobcats, but two of my sisters also have graduations this year, one from eighth grade and the other from high school. My house is bursting with graduations and preparations for all the proud family members and friends that will be visiting. My own 23 birthday, my sisters’ graduations, and due-too-soon assignments are all hanging over me, and I just can’t do anything but listen to music and ponder my life. I don’t want to bore anyone with my life ponderings so this week, I’m going to talk about the music. I’m not a music critic; in fact, I usually leave that to my best friend, but I’m willing to give it a shot.

What I had been listening to: Florence + The Machine, Lungs. The album came out in 2009 so I was kind of tardy to the party with this one. However, I eventually showed up and that’s what matters. This album is without flaw. From start to finish, the album is completely captivating. Every time I listen to the album, I hear a different song really stand out to me. Welch also gets extra props for being a redhead. She’s all around amazing and it’s always great to see a woman succeeding in music that way she is now. I can’t wait to hear more from her.
Favorite tracks
: Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up), Cosmic Love, Drumming Song

What I’m listening to now: Bon Iver, Bon Iver. I wasn’t sure that Justin Vernon could top For Emma, Forever Ago and I’m still not quite sure that he did, but he’s certainly trying. This is an album that you have to listen to all at once. The transitions between songs are so seamless that I went through five songs without ever hearing a real break between them. Recently, I’ve heard Vernon’s high-pitched singing style criticized, but I think he knows exactly what he’s doing and it only adds to the experience of the album. The music itself is more intricate and complex on this album, compared to some of his other Bon Iver music. I listened to this album on a really nice day while soaking up some sun. I suggest you do the same.
Favorite tracks
: Perth, Holocene, Beth/Rest

What I can’t wait to listen to: Death Cab for Cutie, Codes and Keys. I’m anxiously awaiting the arrival of Codes and Keys at my house, because I preordered it months ago. That’s right, I’m so sure that I’ll love it that I bought it instead of just downloading it! The first single of Codes and Keys, “You Are a Tourist” currently has 21 iTunes plays and many more times than that I have sung along to it in the car. Though my favorite Death Cab album will always remain Transatlanticism, I know that Ben Gibbard and the boys won’t let me down. I’m looking forward to an album that Gibbard assures is less dark than their last release, Narrow Stairs. Since its release Gibbard married Zooey Deschanel so I’m (not so) secretly hoping for a love song…
Check out Codes and Keys on May 31st and until then, enjoy “You Are a Tourist.”

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

