‘Glee’ shows glimmers of hope, but still needs work

Throughout this blog, I have revealed things about myself that may be kind of startling and this week is no different. Although you know by now that my television habits are eclectic, I’m about to surprise you with another show that I watch …  Glee. I started watching Glee early on. It was marketed as a show about a bunch of misfits who come together to form a show choir. Sounds genius, doesn’t it? And it was! As Glee has continued I find myself more and more disheartened by the storylines and characters. Occasionally though, Glee gives me a glimmer of hope that it could still the revolutionary show that it set out to be.

Here are some of the things I really like, and some I really don’t, about Glee.

 Pros:

Glimpses of feminism – On this week’s episode, Brittany S. Pierce rejected Artie’s apology song and refused to take him back after he called her “stupid” last week.  I was pretty sure that Brittany, who is portrayed as less intelligent than everyone else, would be wooed by his rendition of “Isn’t She Lovely?” but she stuck up for herself and went to prom alone!

Rachel Berry’s gay dads – Although Rachel isn’t always the most well-liked character by her own peers or by the audience, it is hard to deny the positive effects of a character with two dads. Although Rachel’s dads have not appeared on the show, they have been mentioned a few times and actress Lea Michele has talked about positive feedback she has gotten from little girls who also have two dads.

Gay people, in general – Despite Glee’s gay characters at times being quite stereotypical (See: Kurt), I still think there is a lot of power in mere exposure. Having a stereotypical gay character, in my opinion, is better than having no gay character at all. However, two other characters have been revealed as gay and not in a show-tune, flamboyant kind of way (no offense, Kurt, I do adore you), which is semi-refreshing.

 Cons:

 Sue Sylvester – Although the antagonist of McKinley High started out as hilarious comic relief, I really just find her overdone and tacky these days. Jokes about Hurricane Katrina aren’t funny to me. Physically hurting high school students isn’t funny either.

StereotypesGlee is full of stereotypes. To sit here and list all of them would be exhausting.

Rampant inaccuracies and continuity issues – One of the biggest complaints I hear about the show is that there is no plot, and to that, I’d have to say people are mostly right. Despite some romances, the bullying storyline, and of course their desire to win regionals, there really isn’t much continuity. Characters resolve to get along one week and are at each other’s throats the next. Along with that are the things that are just so wrong, it’s almost hard to watch. School counselor, Emma, has struggled with OCD all through the series and finally went to get help. As the audience watches her brave first step to seek help, we see her visit a doctor who merely prescribes medicine and sends her on her way. Maybe it’s just because I’m a psychology major but I would have liked to see some attempted therapy or something other than just a prescription as the first response.

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

