Freshman SAP Advocate Reflects on Take Back the Night 2011

By OUSAP Peer Advocate Sharnisha Brazzell

Take Back The Night Week is in April on Ohio University‘s campus. It serves to support the victims and survivors of sexual assault and helps raise awareness of the issue, as the month of April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month.

Last month’s rally and march, which began at Scripp’s Amphitheater, was the very first time I have experienced something like that. I had not thought about how the events held during Take Back the Night Week, such as the name burning ceremony or the march and rally, help survivors heal from their assaults. I also think that Take Back the Night is a good thing for the whole OU campus and community to get involved in standing against sexual assault and supporting survivors.

I enjoyed Take Back the Night Week more than I thought I would. I was really glad that I have got the chance to talk to Aishah Shahidah Simmons after the screening of No! Rape Documentary because, although I know sexual assault occurs around the world, I did not know how it really affected others and the different ways in which survivors cope. I am truly grateful for being able to participate in something like that and I cannot wait until next year to be able to do it again.

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

