Will. I. Am. Condom Comments Tacky to “Elle” Reader

By Kristen Magers

I took a break from reality television last week to talk about something going on in advertising, and this week I’m also taking a break from talking about reality television. I was struggling with a topic for this week’s blog and then I came across this interview with Black Eyed Peas member Will.I.Am. ELLE Magazine interviewed Will.I.Am about all things, including his turnoffs. He was asked, “If you walked into a woman’s house, what one item would convince you that you weren’t compatible?”  His answer was condoms, even going so far as to say that it’s “just tacky” for a woman to have condoms.

Excuse me, Will.I.Am? With all of his futuristic outfits and headpieces, you’d think Will.I.Am would be aware of the fact that it’s 2011 and women not only can possess condoms, but also should possess condoms. Why is Will.I.Am contributing to the sexual double standard that is already so prevalent? Although men do have STI’s to worry about when sexually active, women risk pregnancy on top of the threat of STI’s. Women need to take charge of their own bodies and their own sexuality.

No woman should have to wait for a man to say it’s okay to wait for protection, and although a condom-shopping trip could be a fun experience for a new couple, a woman should not depend on a man, or anyone, for the agency to own protection. Women of the sexual revolution fought hard for women to have agency over their own bodies and for the right to access protection, no matter one’s age or marital status.

I cannot believe that Will.I.Am sees owning condoms as a sign of complete incompatibility. However, in the interview he goes on to reveal that people should always have baby wipes next to the toilet and always dry out their sinks. Maybe it’s a good thing that Will.I.Am revealed this weird information about himself, though I am pretty sure it is he that comes off as “just tacky.” Thanks for the head’s up, Will.I.Am!

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

