Tina Fey a feminist hero for pop-culture fanatic

By Kristen Magers

By this time you know that each week I discuss something going on in pop culture. So when I was thinking about blogs for this week, I was really stuck on what to write about. Quite frankly, I have been really busy with Equal Pay Day and not as up on pop culture as I like to be. I was asking around for suggestions on what to write about and it seemed like every conversation led to Tina Fey.

There is no hot Tina Fey news going on. She isn’t 16 and pregnant (though she is pregnant), she isn’t a drag queen, and as far as I know she wants nothing to do with Charlie Sheen. But Tina Fey has made a lot of pop culture history with her work on Mean Girls, Saturday Night Live, and more recently, 30 Rock. Perhaps Fey is most famous for impersonating the one and only, Sarah Palin.

Personally, I think Tina Fey is a feminist hero of present day. Women in comedy have historically been underestimated and sometimes not even seen in such a male-driven world (other than Ellen). But Fey has defied the standards of women in comedy and she has been rewarded greatly with many awards. More recently, she won the Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. Fey’s speech really stuck with me so I am going to share my favorite quote:

“I would be a liar and an idiot if I didn’t thank Sarah Palin for helping get me here tonight. My partial resemblance and her crazy voice are the two luckiest things that have ever happened to me. And, you know, politics aside, the success of Sarah Palin and women like her is good for all women – except, of course –– those who will end up, you know, like, paying for their own rape kit ‘n’ stuff. But for everybody else, it’s a win-win. Unless you’re a gay woman who wants to marry your partner of 20 years – whatever. But for most women, the success of conservative women is good for all of us. Unless you believe in evolution. You know – actually, I take it back. The whole thing’s a disaster.”


(View Fey’s speech here: http://video.pbs.org/video/1645426185/)

I love this quote for so many reasons. First of all, it’s really funny. Secondly, it’s wildly accurate. I think it’s great that Tina Fey can thank and bash Sarah Palin all within the same couple of paragraphs. Thanks, Tina for saying that we were all thinking!

About Ohio U Women's Center

The Ohio University Women’s Center serves and responds to the needs of OU women students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community. Founded in 2007, the center is dedicated to creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate for all members of the community through programs, resources, referrals, advocacy, and education. Located in Baker University Center 403.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tina Fey a feminist hero for pop-culture fanatic

  1. Jeanna says:

    I am thrilled to see Tina Fey as the topic of so much conversation. She deserves ad has earned every one of her successes. Great post, Kristen, thanks!

Leave a Reply

